Weekly email of our best stuff
Hello and welcome to contact us page at eProfits
How can we help you today?
Gluten sensitivity, including celiac disease, can literally put a cramp in many individuals’ eating habits. Altho...
Gluten sensitivity, including celiac disease, can literally put a cramp in many individuals’ eating habits. Although gluten only occurs naturally in wheat and similar grains like rye, barley and spelt, it is often added to other foods to increase protein content, change consistency or help dough to rise.
While most foods are essentially gluten free, gluten is often added to “unobvious” products like ice cream, beers, and condiments. So, things can get tricky when trying to avoid it. Fortunately, due to an increased awareness of gluten sensitivity, more and more food products are being manufactured and labelled as gluten-free.
Naturally, non-wheat and non-grain-based whole foods will not contain gluten. It is therefore unnecessary to point out that individual fruits, vegetables and dairy products are gluten-free.
It’s when trying to enjoy all the foodstuffs traditionally made with wheat that things can go “a-rye.” Yet with a bit of creativity, the gluten-intolerant can enjoy like they’ve never even heard the word celiac.
Try these gluten-free alternatives to your favourite foods:
Bread: Though the trickiest to “get right,” breads can be made from practically any gluten-free flour
Pizza: Gluten-free pizza and pastry flours, premixed or DIY (rice with tapioca is a popular combo), are available
Pancakes: Pre-mixed, containing buckwheat, rice, potato, tapioca and corn flour
Pasta: Dried pasta from buckwheat, rice, quinoa, millet and corn
Cakes and cookies: Try using a gluten-free flour mix, celiac-safe oats, ground nuts and dried fruit
Beer: Available from many small and larger breweries—check the labels!
Breakfast cereals: Check the supermarket or health food store for gluten-free cereals (cornflakes, puffed rice), or make your own with celiac-safe oats, nuts and fruits
*Gluten-free flours can be made from ingredients including rice, buckwheat, corn, tapioca, oatmeal (some), quinoa, potato, soya, millet, hempseed, teff, almond and chestnut.